Monthly Archives: "February 2012"

Road March 1. Machel Montano – “Pump Yuh Flag” 2. Fay-Ann Lyons-Alvarez – “Miss Behave” 3. Neil “Iwer” George – “No Pain” Calypso Monarch 1.Duane O’Connor 2.Kurt Allen 3.Karene Asche Extempo Monarch Leslie-Ann Bristow a.k.a Lady Africa Political Commentary Monarch Kurt Allen Social Commentary Monarch Duane O’Connor King Ralliez-Vous – A Mon Panache Blanc! – Roland St George Malakyahweh – The Praying Mantis – Gerard Weekes Queen Mother of Humanity – The Weeping Madonna – CharissBovell National Panorama Champions in the Large Conventional Band Neal & Massy Trinidad All StarsRead More

Posted On February 23, 2012By altonIn News

Dice Live Performance- Dominica 2012 Calypso King

Dice is Calypso King in Dominica for the 5th time while Nadira Lando is Miss Dominica 2012Read More
Sullivan Walker (1944 – 2012) is a Trinidadian actor who has played numerous small and recurring roles on television shows since the early eighties. Walker migrated to New York from Trinidad in 1969 and has since become an actor, writer, director and teacher. Professional work Walker has acted in such television shows as The Cosby Show from 1988 to 1991 portraying Bill Cosby’s physician friend, Dr. James Harmon. He has guest-starred in single episodes of The Pretender (1999), The Sentinel (1997), and Law & Order: Special Victims Unit (2004). HeRead More
BUSY SIGNAL SHOWS HIS VERSATILITY ON FIRST FULL-LENGTH ALBUM DEDICATED TO REAL ROOTS MUSIC REGGAE MUSIC AGAIN OUT APRIL 24 ON VP RECORDS Better known for his sharp-spitting rhymes on hardcore dancehall hits like “Tic Toc” (remixed by M.I.A. and Rye Rye) and “Wine Pon De Edge,” Busy Signal emerges as a charismatic roots reggae artist on his forthcoming album Reggae Music Again, out April 24th on VP Records. A stark departure from the sequenced beats that dominated Busy’s three previous albums, the intricate, multi-layered one-drop rhythms heard on ReggaeRead More
Check out the official “Hold On” video, the new single from his album TOMAHAWK TECHNIQUE!Read More
Dancehall Stalwart Bounty Killer has been nominated for this year’s Boston Most Elite (MBE) Awards, which will be held on May 19, 2012 at the Champagne Hall, Boston, Massachusetts, USA. He has been given the nomination for ‘Lifetime Award’ for his contribution to dancehall. Congratulations to the Dancehall General on this nomination and the best of wishes on winning this award.Read More
New York, NY – Trinidadian singer/songwriter Darryl “Farmer Nappy” Henry brings his unique brand of soca to the masses with his new album, You Make Me…Surrender, available in stores and online today, February 21, 2012. The album is already receiving critical acclaim, including favorable reviews from The New Yorker and MTV, which gave it 4 out of 5 stars. “It’s good to see international media outlets such as MTV and The New Yorker embracing and supporting Caribbean music,” reveals Farmer Nappy. “This means we are another step closer to spreadingRead More
GROUNDATION RELEASES NEW STUDIO ALBUM ‘BUILDING AN ARK’ OUT APRIL 24 ON VP RECORDS’ NEW IMPRINT DUB ROCKERS Currently On Tour In Australia, New Zealand and Europe Hailing from California’s Bay Area, Groundation will unleash their new studio album, entitled Building An Ark, on April 24, 2012 via Dub Rockers/VP/Universal Music. This 10-track set will be the first release off the new imprint Dub Rockers from reggae giant VP Records. The internationally acclaimed band stays true to the essence of their dynamic sound – capturing the true spirit of rootsRead More

Posted On February 23, 2012By altonIn News

Karma brings the rhythm and rhyme to LIME

Trinidad – The ultra all-Inclusive event ‘LIME’ which recently took place at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Port-Of-Spain received a premium dose of Chutney and Soca flavour courtesy Caribbean music band Karma. Set to the backdrop of the picturesque downtown Port-Of-Spain waterfront, the dynamic Karma initiated the soundtrack to what was one of this Carnival season’s most highly anticipated events. Thousands of attendees who were feasting on the fete’s countless culinary temptations and sipping on a seemingly endless supply of luxurious libations all got into the party mode from theRead More

Posted On February 23, 2012By altonIn News

Fire Links Set for First World Clash Appearance

New York, New York — The streets and online community have been ablaze since the release of Irish and Chin’s fiery line-up for World Clash R.E.S.E.T. in New York. The epic clash will be nothing less than spectacular with high caliber competitors like Tony Matterhorn, Fire Links, Bass Odyssey, Black Kat, Earth Ruler, Poison Dart and David Rodigan. According to clash fans, one of World Clash’s most surprising contenders is Fire Links, namely because he has not clashed in over three years and is new to the World Clash stage.Read More