Posted On March 25, 2015 By In Music Reviews, Music-News Radio, News, Program Related With 77 Views

Jo Mersa Marley – Rock and Swing – WSHH Premiere Over 4.2 Mil Views + U.S. Tour Dates in April & May 2015

JO MERSA RELEASES NEW VIDEO “ROCK AND SWING”

DIRECTED BY RAS KASSA AND SHOT IN KINGSTON, JAMAICA

World Star Hip Hop Premiere Receives Over 4.2 Mil Views in Less Than 2 Days

Bob Marley’s Grandson and Reggae’s Rising Star Will Tour U.S. in April

The 23-year-old reggae newcomer Jo Mersa, who is the second generation offspring of musical legend Bob Marley and eldest son of Stephen Marley, unleashes his brand new video for “Rock and Swing.” The visual was shot in Kingston, Jamaica and directed by the island’s acclaimed visionary Ras Kassa (Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley, Stephen “Ragga” Marley, Willie Nelson, Michael Franti & Beenie Man). The World Star Hip Hop premiere has received over 4.2 million views, since its release this past Saturday (March 7). WATCH/POST Jo Mersa’s “Rock and Swing” now:

Produced by Stephen Marley, Llamar “Riff Raff” Brown and Jo himself, the heavy-bass, rebellious track touches on social issues like the misunderstood youths of this generation, pedophilia and dirty politics. “I wanted to show the alternative of how beautiful life is, to love it and appreciate the gift of life,” states Mersa. “Rock and Swing” is off Jo’s debut EP Comfortable and the new compilation Ghetto Youths Presents Set Up Shop Volume 2.

Mersa will tour the United States throughout April and May in support of Set Up Shop Volume 2 with fellow featured artists Cham, Wayne Marshall, Christopher Ellis and Black-Am-I. See tour schedule here and below.

JO MERSA
Jo Mersa – born March 12, 1991 in Kingston, Jamaica – became immersed into music at 4-years-old, appearing on stage alongside his father Stephen, uncle Ziggy and aunts Cedella and Sharon (a.k.a. Ziggy Marley and The Melody Makers). He released his debut EP Comfortable in June 2014 and toured in the U.S. last year with Stephen “Ragga” Marley as well as Slightly Stoopid. Mersa merges reggae with pop, hip hop and EDM, while showcasing his deft vocals, clever songwriting and flourishing production skills. Jo has been chosen as one of 2015’s Artists To Watch by OkayPlayer’s Caribbean site LargeUp and was nominated as The Pier’s 2015 Breakthrough Artist. He has been featured in People magazine, Rolling Stone, Yahoo Music, Complex, Vibe, The Fader, Fox Detroit Morning Show, Fox Miami Deco Drive and Revolt. Watch his others videos for “Comfortable” and “Sunshine.”

IG, Facebook and Twitter: @JoMersaMarley
U.S. TOUR DATES
Thu. Apr. 9 in Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts – Wolf Building
Fri. Apr 10 in New York, NY @ S.O.B.’S
Sat. Apr 11 in Washington DC @ The Hamilton
Mon. Apr. 13 in Allston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall in Boston, MA
Wed. Apr. 15 in Chicago, IL @ Double Door
Fri. Apr. 17 in Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Sat. Apr. 18 in Lincoln, NE @ Bourbon
Mon. Apr. 20 in Fort Collins, CO @ Aggie Theatre
Tue. Apr 21 in Denver, CO @ Cervantes’ Masterpiece Ballroom
Wed. Apr 22 in Aspen, CO @ Belly Up Aspen
Fri. Apr 24 in Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Sat. Apr 25 in Portland, OR @ Alhambra Theatre
Mon. Apr. 27 in Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst – Atrium
Tue. Apr. 28 in Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern
Wed. Apr. 29 in Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex
Fri. May 1 in San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Sat. May 2 in Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory – Constellation Room

Tags : , , , , , , , ,

About